[Table of Contents] [UW Home] [List of Sections]

Systems of Study

The University offers students two different systems of study, the Regular System and the Co-operative System. Some programs are offered under one system only, while others are offered under either system. Each of the program sections in this Calendar contains information concerning the System of Study that can be followed for the program described.

Regular System

Under the Regular System of Study the student follows the conventional eight-month academic year from September to April.

Co-operative System

Students studying under the Co-operative System alternate academic terms on campus with work terms off campus in business, industry, or government. Further information about the Co-operative System is provided in "Department of Co-operative Education and Career Services".

Courses are given in four-month term units regardless of the system of study.


[Table of Contents]